Anne McDonald Milling Receives JL Mary Harriman Award

Anne McDonald Milling Receives The Junior League's Mary Harriman Community Leadership Award for 2012

Inspired leadership in the wake of Hurricane Katrina creates lasting community impact in New Orleans

New York, NY – April 20, 2012The Association of Junior Leagues International, Inc. today announced that Anne McDonald Milling, a past President and Sustainer of the Year of the Junior League of New Orleans, has been awarded the 2012 Mary Harriman Community Leadership Award for a lifetime of achievement, both within her League as well as within the greater New Orleans community. The award was made at AJLI’s 90thAnnual Convention in San Francisco on April 20.

The Mary Harriman Award is given to Junior League members whose leadership exemplifies the 111-year-old organization’s mission, vision and values. Past winners include former Supreme Court Justice Sandra Day O’Connor; Martha Rivers Ingram, chairman of the Vanderbilt University Board of Trustees and a noted philanthropist and patron of the arts; Karen Cullen Luke, lifelong civic leader in Oklahoma City and vice chair of the committee that built The Oklahoma National Memorial & Museum; and last year’s winner, Shawsie Branton, a life-long community activist and volunteer in Kansas City, MO.

AJLI President Delly Beekman said, “Anne is nothing short of a powerhouse. She is a passionate and disciplined volunteer who’s never met a noble cause she didn’t get behind; a renegade reformer who is relentlessly committed to the health and welfare of her community; and a persuasive advocate who has used her skills, her network, and her voice to make a positive and enduring impact on her beloved city of New Orleans.”

Ms. Milling’s community advocacy has covered everything from hunger to AIDS, good government to ethics reform, coastal restoration to diversity and inclusion. She came to national prominence in the aftermath of Hurricane Katrina with a now-famous initiative called Women of the Storm. With a culturally, economically, and socially diverse group of 130 women, Ms. Milling traveled to Washington to extend personal invitations to members of Congress to tour the storm’s devastation first-hand. Having borne witness to the magnitude of the tragedy, these legislative leaders ultimately approved funding for a critical housing restoration initiative for the citizens of New Orleans. The Women of the Storm movement continues today with a focus on drawing the attention of Congress, media and opinion leaders to the needs of New Orleans, South Louisiana and the entire Gulf Coast


About the Mary Harriman Community Leadership Award
In 1901, a 19-year-old debutante with a social conscience rallied 80 of her peers to improve the squalid living conditions of immigrants on New York City’s Lower East Side, forming the first Junior League. Eighty-nine years later, in 1990, the AJLI Board of Directors created the Mary Harriman Community Leadership Award as a way of recognizing an individual Junior League member whose volunteer efforts embody Mary Harriman’s pioneering spirit, her sense of social responsibility, and her ability to motivate others to share their talents through effective volunteer action. It serves as a modern-day link to our rich heritage – and to the tradition Mary began.

# # #

About The Association of Junior Leagues International, Inc.
Founded in 1901 by New Yorker and social activism pioneer, Mary Harriman, the Junior Leagues are charitable nonprofit organizations of women, developed as civic leaders, creating demonstrable community impact.

Today, The Association of Junior Leagues International, Inc. (AJLI) is comprised of more than 155,000 women in 293 Junior Leagues throughout Canada, Mexico, the United Kingdom and the United States.  Together, they constitute one of the largest, most effective volunteer organizations in the world. 


Media Contact:
Tracy Van Buskirk
Marketcom PR
Main: (212) 537-5177 Ext. 8
Mobile: (203) 246-6165