2022 Mary Harriman Award

The Mary Harriman Community Leadership Award is bestowed upon a transformational female leader who has set bold goals, opened her circle, disrupted convention and changed the conversation for the betterment of civil society. Over the last two years, we’ve had absolutely outstanding Mary Harriman Award winners who we were not able to be celebrated in person. In order to give space to properly honor them while we’re all here together, we will be acknowledging our 2020 recipient, Former Chief Justice Cheri Beasley from the JL of Raleigh and Fayetteville North Carolina, and our 2021 recipient, the Honorable Susan Brooks, in lieu of presenting a 2022 Mary Harriman Community Leadership Award.

Chief Justice Cheri Beasley

Chief Justice Cheri Beasley is a woman whose calling in life is service, and she has made deep and lasting impacts on the lives of countless North Carolinians throughout her career — not only with decisions she has made in the courtroom, but also with her immense dedication to engaging with the community.

Our 2020 Mary Harriman Award recipient, shared a special message.

The Honorable Susan Brooks

Susan Brooks joined the Junior League of Indianapolis in 1992 and has become an accomplished leader with a long history of tackling difficult issues, as a volunteer and public servant. She has served as a strategic advisor to companies, nonprofits, educational institutions, and hospitals during organizational change. She often shares with Junior League of Indianapolis members her incredible journey and encourages them to take advantage of the leadership and networking opportunities the League provides.

Our 2021 Mary Harriman Award winner, had such inspiring words when she was presented with her award last year. Here's a clip of what she had to say.