Mary Harriman Award Archive

  • Dee Dickinson

    2005: Dee Dickinson

    The Junior League of Seattle

    Dee Dickinson is one of the world's foremost experts on learning and human development. A member of the Junior League of Seattle for more than 50 years, she has pioneered a number of innovative programs that continue to enrich the lives of countless schoolchildren, parents, and educators.

    Click here to read more >

  • Senator Elizabeth Simms

    2004: Elizabeth Sims

    The Junior League of St. Louis

    A member of The Junior League of St. Louis for more than 48 years, Senator Elizabeth "Betty" Sims has consistently championed initiatives that support women's health and well-being, including the Governor's Women's Health Initiative, the creation of the Office on Women's Health, and the MC+ for Kids Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP). She chairs the Aging, Families and Mental Health Committee and also co-chairs the Senate Committee on Civil and Criminal Jurisprudence. 

    Click here to read more >

  • Martha Bedell Alexander

    2003: Martha Bedell Alexander

    The Junior League of Charlotte

    A member of the Junior League of Charlotte, Martha Bedell Alexander brings her zeal for serving society to the North Carolina House of Representatives where she has pushed for reforms in policies on the health, economic, and social welfare of women, children, and families.

    Click here to read more >

  • Karen Cullen Luke

    2002: Karen Cullen Luke

    The Junior League of Oklahoma City

    Junior League of Oklahoma City volunteer Karen Cullen Luke is recognized in her community as a role model for active, effective citizenship and compassionate yet focused leadership. These traits served her well when she led the committee that built the Oklahoma City National Memorial & Museum, which seeks to educate visitors about the origins and ramifications of acts of terrorism.

    Click here to read more >

  • Ruth Altshuler

    2002: Ruth Collins Sharp Altshuler (1924-2017)

    The Junior League of Dallas

    Ruth Collins Sharp Altshuler's fifty years of service to her League and to her city of Dallas have won her awards sufficient for 10 trophy cases. Among them are the prestigious Outstanding Philanthropist of the Year Award from the National Society of Fundraising Executives, the National Alexis de Tocqueville Award of the United Way of America, and the Distinguished Service Award given by the Association of Governing Boards of Universities and Colleges.

    Click here to read more >

  • Marjorie McCullough Lunken Ittman Hiatt Motch

    2000: Marjorie McCullough Lunken Ittman Hiatt Motch

    The Junior League of Cincinnati

    In the early 1950s when the nation was still segregated, Marjorie Motch of Cincinnati, Ohio saw beyond racial boundaries and served on the board of her city's Urban League and co-founded the Urban League Guild. She also did a turn as the national president of the Girl Scouts.

    Click here to read more >

  • Martha Rivers Ingram


    The Junior League of Nashville

    When asked about The Junior League, Martha Rivers Ingram said, "I never expected to find myself serving as Chairman and CEO of a major American corporation. You may never expect to run a business, to be head of a household, or to lead a nonprofit board. Yet, effective Junior League training can prepare you for these experiences and many others."

    Click here to read more >